Omega-3 fatty acids
Term: Omega-3 fatty acids
Alternative Terms: -
Long Description: 

Omega 3Omega-3 fatty acids are polyunsaturated fatty acids. The three types are docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and alpha-linolenic acid (ALA).

The fatty acids DHA and EPA contribute to
- the normal function of the heart
- the maintenance of normal brain function
- the maintenance of normal vision
- to the maintenance of normal blood pressure

The following groups of people may have higher omega-3 fatty acid requirements:
Children and adolescents, pregnant and breastfeeding women.

Sources: Seafood, e.g. salmon, anchovies, sardines, mussels or shrimp, as well as vegetable oils, such as linseed oil, walnut oil and rapeseed oil.